Archive for May 11th, 2017

“No Relief Like Passing Checkpoint Charlie – – Visits to East Berlin reminded me of how fortunate I was.”

May 11, 2017

https://www.wsj.com/articles/no-relief-like-passing-checkpoint-charlie-1494455559

My first visit to Berlin was a business trip in the  1990s.  I had a very crowded schedule, but was able to see a little of Berlin, which at the time was being called the largest construction site in the world in the wake of reunification.  A highlight was visiting the Checkpoint Charlie Museum my last morning there, before heading off to the airport.

In 2001 I visited Berlin with my parents, with whom my siblings and I had already had multiple viewings of “Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy” and “Game, Set, Match.”  I took the opportunity to get a photo of my father walking past the iconic Checkpoint Charlie sign (while wearing his Bernard Samson hat).

“[Q&A] about Changes to the Young Men Program – – Beginning in 2018, the Church will no longer participate in BSA Varsity and Venturing programs”

May 11, 2017

http://www.mormonnewsroom.org/article/questions-answers-changes-young-men-program

This morning I did a double take when I received and opened an e-mail about this.

‘Rule one on page one of the book of war, is: “Do not march on Moscow.” ’ Field Marshal Viscount Montgomery, House of Lords, May 1962

May 11, 2017

Roberts, Andrew. Napoleon: A Life (p. 580). Penguin Publishing Group. Kindle Edition.