“I was sitting at the defense table…when I suddenly hear this scream…I look over and my client has opposing counsel by the throat.”

http://www.abajournal.com/magazine/article/james_brosnahan

Excerpt:

Brosnahan was defending a man in a civil tax recuperation case in federal court.

“I was sitting at the defense table, making notes for my closing argument, when I suddenly hear this scream,” says Brosnahan. “I look over and my client has opposing counsel by the throat.”

Brosnahan rushed over to pull his client off the lawyer. The federal judge hit the panic button under the bench, causing U.S. marshals to storm into the courtroom, weap­ons drawn.

“The defendant is trying to kill the tax attorney,” the judge yelled out.

The marshal paused, holstered his gun and, in a calm voice, responded, “Judge, that’s only a misdemeanor.”

“We won the case, but my client still went to jail for six months for attacking the tax attorney,” says Brosnahan.

Leave a Reply

