“[Japan’s] productivity per hour worked is approximately 65% of America’s.”

http://www.economist.com/news/business/21709578-japan-needs-do-more-encourage-new-businesses-how-rev-up-japanese-startups

I loved all my business trips to Japan.

During most of those trips I was with a colleague, also American, who had far more experience than I traveling and working in Asia.

We would work pretty long days during those trips, but I would observe that my Japanese colleagues would work even longer hours, I think many or most of them were still in the office when we would leave.

But my colleague pointed out that the Japanese did not necessarily get more done than their American counterparts whose workdays were shorter.

In Japan there was a strong cultural expectation that people spend very long days in the office, and the lower productivity was accepted.

Looking at the statistics appearing in the title of this blogpost, I wonder how much of that productivity disparity is a function this aspect of the Japanese office worker culture.

Leave a Reply

