Career Advice from Elder John A. Widtsoe

The biography of Truman Madsen, “The Truman G. Madsen Story,” includes this anecdote about his seeking career advice:

Widtsoe’s Three Questions.  “A few days after my return [from my mission],” Truman wrote, “John A. Widtsoe, then one of the Twelve and himself a Harvard man, spoke in my hearing. His easy familiarity with sacred writings, history, poetry, and the latest word in natural science impressed me. Shyly I approached him afterword and said `Could I talk to you sometime about vocation?’ I knew he’d been a university president.” He invited me to his home . . . Elder Widtsoe recommended three searching questions that influenced my later decisions: “What am I good at, or what, in time, could I become good at? What do I like to do? What does the world need?”

Leave a Reply

