That Sports Illustrated Story I Used in Sacrament Meeting

While doing some cleaning and organizing today, I came across some notes I used to give a talk in my old ward in Littleton, Colorado, the talk in which I shared a Sports Illustrated article I had come across.

I have a memory of giving that talk, but not remembered enough about the article to locate it again.

From my notes, I learned that the article was about the experiences of William Hafford, and how on a summer job far from home a Mormon who played football at Utah State had taken time to work with William, who was struggling greatly to find success on his high school football team.  The preparation and guidance William received made all the difference in the world. In fact, in the article William is reflecting on the happiest day in his life, which turns out to be the day he became a successful high school football player.

Here is the article:  http://www.si.com/vault/1979/07/16/823787/as-i-did-it-a-summer-of-cutting-brush-was-the-solution-to-cutting-it-in-football.

Leave a Reply

