Bud Collins

While at the gym early this morning, I saw that several television programs were reporting on the death of tennis journalist Bud Collins.

I have many fond memories of watching tennis broadcasts with my family before I left home, and even some summers that I spent in Colorado, and many of those broadcasts included Bud Collins.  I seem to recall my brother Doug telling me that Collins once played  match (at Wimdbledon?) in bare feet. One of my favorites lines from Collins was when on a broadcast he mentioned the next tournament they would report on was to be in Hawaii – – “We’re going to Maui.  Wowie!”

The Boston Globe, for whom he worked throughout his decades-long career, had a nice article on him that I just finished reading:  Bud Collins, barrier-breaker and tennis authority, dies at 86.  And, I just read an article from NPR, here.

Leave a Reply

