Teachings of Presidents of the Church: Ezra Taft Benson Chapter 10: Flooding the Earth and Our Lives with the Book of Mormon

Teachings of Presidents of the Church: Ezra Taft Benson Chapter 10: Flooding the Earth and Our Lives with the Book of Mormon.

Priesthood lesson for today.

Excerpt 1:  May I commend you faithful Saints who are striving to flood the earth and your lives with the Book of Mormon. Not only must we move forward in a monumental manner more copies of the Book of Mormon, but we must move boldly forward into our own lives and throughout the earth more of its marvelous messages.

Excerpt 2:

“‘He can’t be serious!’ thought Margo Merrill when she first heard President Ezra Taft Benson’s request that parents read the Book of Mormon with their children. ‘My children are only six, five, and two years old. I’ll just be wasting my time and patience.’

“Brother and Sister Merrill decided to try reading the Book of Mormon with their children anyway. When they came to the story of Nephi and his broken bow, six-year-old Melissa became ill with pneumonia.

“‘Melissa pleaded with me to let her go back to school even though she was sick,’ [said] Margo. ‘She said that if she didn’t go back, her friend, Pamela—who is a member of another church—wouldn’t know what happened to Nephi. Then Melissa sobbed and slumped into my arms. I dried her tears and suggested she call Pamela on the telephone and tell her what had happened to Nephi.

“‘As I heard Melissa relate in detail the incident regarding Nephi’s broken bow, I remembered my earlier thoughts about wasting my time and patience reading the Book of Mormon to my young children. Oh, how I had underestimated their ability to learn the lessons of the Book of Mormon!’”3

Leave a Reply

