Denver Omelette

I ate breakfast at a hotel today, and had an omelette. I’m not sure I’ve ever had a Denver omelette, but perhaps you have. Did you ever want to know how to make one? Here is a list of the ingredients:

salt
2 eggs
2 tsp. butter
1/3 c. sliced fresh mushrooms
2 bias-sliced green onions
black pepper
1/4 c. green bell peppers
1/4 c. fully cooked hams cut into julienne strips

I found this list at http://www.ehow.com/how_13825_make-seven-minute.html. If you follow that link, you can learn how to actually prepare the omelette. There are a variety of things you can learn to do at http://www.ehow.com.

My favorite omelette is an omelette I ate in suburban Denver in the summer of 2005. My 11-year-old nephew was in Littleton for a visit, and he made me an omelette 2 or 3 mornings. He’d take my order, and then ask me if I wanted “a side to with the omelette . . . hash browns, toast.” I said I wanted toast, so he prepared toast for me as well. Now that’s service!

(These reflections from a March 15 experience were writing on April 5, 2006)

Leave a Reply

